The Dark Future is Now

It’s kind of funny…

In writing my new novel, I wanted to have a massive exploitation of eminent domain laws.  You know, those laws that say the government can seize your property and sell it for “public use.”  But I wanted to have it so in the future of my book, “public use” essentially meant “for no reason at all.”

Except in my research of eminent domain, I found out that that’s what it means today. 

So the dark reinterpretation of eminent domain that I was looking for HAS ALREADY HAPPENED.

It’s called Kelo v. City of New London.  It was last year.  The problems created by this case are explained in fairly plain English here: http://castlecoalition.org/pdf/publications/CC_Myths_Reality%20Final.pdf

That’s what happens when I use old sources.  I think the current state of affairs is a lot rosier than it actually is.

Leave a Reply

