Hot Damn, I’m a Gamist

After having reread Ron Edward’s Article on Gamism:

http://www.indie-rpgs.com/articles/21/

And having played several indie RPGs, as well as attempted to design some of my own, I have to say this:

I like Gamist play.  I like it alot.  I’m even more certain of that now than when I first read the GNS articles and was exposed to them.

(And within Gamisim, I prefer Crunch over Gamble, which my ruminations suggest is hard to do well.)

What does this mean to me?  Now that’s a more difficult question.  RE’s explanation of CCGs as portable, customizable wargames really clicked.  I’m a big CCG fan, and Shadowfist is absolutely my favorite game (CC or otherwise) right now.

But yeah, if a game doesn’t have a Challenge (that’s with a capital C there… as in “Could there be a CHALLENGE buried in the ground?  DOUBLE DEUCE!!!1”) for me to face, I’m going to get bored and disrupt your game.

(Note that CHALLENGES are essential for Narrativist play.  They just get labeled differently.  They aren’t for Sim play, which is why I make Sim players cry.)

If your game does have a CHALLENGE, you’re going to find me interested, committed, and pulling crazy shit out of nowhere.

(Since this is my blog and I’m allowed to ramble, let me recall the Lamest Vampire Game Ever.  Absolutely nothing happened.  I decided one night that I would rather walk home in the rain than play in that game.)

Step On Up or Go Home, Biznatch.

5 thoughts on “Hot Damn, I’m a Gamist

  1. Daniel says:

    I think I tend to waver someplace in between gamism-loving and nar-loving.

    I find that I really don’t have the time or patience for a whole lot of crunch right now, though. The secret, for me, is getting my game(ism) on with few rules and lots of strategy. Like Go, or Chess, but an RPG.

    Regards,
    Daniel

  2. Tim says:

    As far as roleplaying goes, I range from sim to nar. I used to like gamist RPGs, but after spending way, way too much time playing Magic and Asheron’s Call I think my CA compass has become tilted.

    -Tim

  3. Willow says:

    Dan- It’s unfortunate that ‘Crunch’ is used to mean 3 or more different things, and that it ends up meaning none of them.  Here crunch means strategy as opposed to luck.  I totally agree with you about needless rules. 

    Tim- Pansy Sim player! I’m going to hit your character in the face with a shovel and take his stuff. Where’s your exploration of character NOW, biznatch?

  4. Whoohoo! Awesome. Welcome to the Gamist club. I’m a souled out Gamist myself. It’s awesome that more and more of us are coming out of the woodwork and proclaiming it.

    I’m going to have to link your blog to mine when I get a chance. I look forward to reading more of your stuff.

    Peace,

    -Troy

  5. chess set says:

    things are different since the last time i’ve been here, nice work. i’ll have to stop by more often.

Leave a Reply

