I’ve Become One of *Those* People

If you find yourself coming into pet ownership, let me warn you:

That Way Lies Madness.

Luckily, you’re in good company.

You know those people who completely dote over their animals and identify with them on a really weird m(p)aternal level (its usually women, but I know at least two men who do this).  They say things like, “Oh Munkie!, come out an meet your mama’s friends,” and stuff like that.

I’ve become one of those people.  I always thought that they were way, way, off the deep end, and incredibly pathetic that they equated pet ownership with parenthood.  But as a first time pet owner (I’ve had pets as a kid, and family pets, but this is different!  She’s *my* baby!)  I have totally succumbed to this.  I didn’t think I was going to, but it’s snuck up on me, you know?  I also write about my cat on my blog, and sometimes when I’m at work or outside and I’m just thinking about my cat- she’s not even there or anything- I’ll get really happy and say her name out loud.  (This is usually followed by feeling really stupid and looking around to see if anyone heard me.)

Anyway, I’ve gotten Munkie! to be willing to go inside the kitty carrier:  catnip did the trick, and she hung out in there for a little while.  Hopefully I can get her accomodated to it, and then have an easier vet time (and a fun kitty hidey-hole.)

Leave a Reply

