What is the Shattered Vistas?

Crossposted across the internet.

What is Shattered Vistas?

Shattered Vistas is a game about life.  Life that sucks hard and is an uphill battle, possibly filled with eldritch horrors and ninjas.

In Shattered Vistas, reality is *broken*.  The world’s ended, it’s up to you to clean up the mess, or at least hold things off as long as you can.  The Vistas are a dark place, and they get a little worse every day.

As a hero, you go into dungeons, kill things, and take their stuff.  But its more than that.  The things that you fight are bound into the fate of the world.  The more you confront monsters in dark caves, the more you confront intrinsic laws that govern life and bind everyone into misery.  Can you throw everything away for the sake of others?

As a player, you have hardcore resource management options.  Think the hidden combat orders of Burning Wheel or Diplomacy combined with blind bidding and lists of kewl powers.  Also buckets of dice.  I love me some rolling of buckets of dice.

Two questions:

Does this appeal to you?

Is there anything that seems particularly problematic?

4 thoughts on “What is the Shattered Vistas?

  1. Rahvin says:

    Problematic? Not particularly. The only “problem” (I prefer the word challenge) is making sure to tie the character’s actions to the fate of the world thematically. Players have a tendency to forget about that fate of the world stuff when confronting a nasty.

    As far as whether it appeals to me, the core idea has a lot of potential, and so long as you can keep away from being D&D-ish and maintain a strong theme, I dig it.

    I don’t know what the “hidden combat orders” of Burning Wheel are. Was there a secret code in the combat chapter?

    As a general rule, I don’t like Blind Bidding. Blind Bidding without knowing what the other player’s strategy may be “realistic,” but doesn’t make for too much of a great tactical game since it just encourages random decisions.

    Lists of kewl powers and buckets of dice sound cool to me. Though, word of warning: Some D&D players have been conditioned (by those supporting the ‘d20 system’) to disfavor games that have lots and lots of dice in their mechanics. I mention this only because it sounds like you might be trying to grab some of that market share and you’ll have to be aware of this problem.

    Most of my posts are always criticism, but that’s only because I feel criticism is more helpful to the designer than praise. The idea sounds good, or rather it sounds like you know where you want the game to go development-wise (not a Burning Wheel pun) and where you eventually want to go sounds like a cool place to be. 🙂

  2. Willow says:

    Visa Vis BW and hidden combat orders: you and your opponent determine your actions secretly and simultaneously, and then reveal. There’s no real initiative struture where one person acts, then the other: first you script, THEN the actions take place.

    I’m not concerned about ‘Realism’ at all in the use of Blind Bidding, it’s there because I think it’s a darn good game mechanic. (Although your concerns inspire me to create a line of special powers that would allow a player to tinker with their bids after the fact.)

    And no, I’m not trying to grab away d20’s market share or make ‘the next big thing.’ Not going to happen. I’m designing this game for me, but with any luck, other people will enjoy it too, and want to give me money. 🙂

    Good concerns, so thanks for chiming in!

  3. Rahvin says:

    Ah, okay. Hidden from EACHOTHER, not the players. I was beginning to wonder if the author threw in extra hidden options as easter eggs and I missed them. 🙂

    I think hidden combat orders and blind bidding is the same thing. Or at least any of my concerns that apply to one also apply to the other.

  4. Rahvin says:

    At some point, I’d love to hear your thoughts on why you think blind bidding is a darn good mechanic.

Leave a Reply

