The View From the Top

Crossposted to the IDS forums.

I stumbled across a link to this blog post over on rpg.net:
http://soulkerfuffle.blogspot.com/2006/10/view-from-top.html

Wow. It really puts some things in perspective.

We have things really good here in GW land. High levels and massive loot are easy to find. There have been periods where I haven’t played for weeks (except for checking in occassionally) because I needed a break. You know what? I really value that. On top of that, I’m not paying a monthly fee. I could set the game down, and not come back for a year, and pick up where I left off.

(That said, I’m sure *someone* out there, not necessarily in this guild, is killing themselves trying to farm out some of the more onerous titles, or complete EVERY bonus mission with EVERY character they have. You don’t have to beat Prophecies, Factions, and Nightfall each a dozen times.)

So if anyone reading this is feeling pressure to “succeed”, stop. Relax, take a break. Go for a walk or something. Do your homework. Read a book. It will do you good.

3 thoughts on “The View From the Top

  1. Tim says:

    Yup. That is why I kept turning down officer positions in Asheron’s Call, and why I’m avoiding online games now. Hopefully I’ll never be that addicted to just one game.

  2. mouseecstasy says:

    Ah yes, GW is a fantastic MMORPG. I played it while completing my final year of secondary school. It never got in the way and it was an absolutely vital escape from study stress! Why don’t some WoW pro-raiders admire the freedom of GW? How can you love a game that just makes you play for five hours long or more a session just to get some better stats? Why do you need everything? Just enjoy the game 🙂

  3. Willow says:

    Indeed. I can easily get a GW gaming fix in 15 minutes in random arenas, and many of the missions can be done in under a half hour with henchmen.

Leave a Reply

