I Hate Reading Burningwheel.com

And it’s because of Luke Crane.

Yes, I love the Burning Games.  But I can’t stand the guy’s posts on his own website.

(Of course, I’m one to spew the vitriol.  There’s probably someone out there who loves some of my projects, like Kingdom of Bluuud!!!1 or something, but hates my rants.)

It seems like everytime someone asks a rules question, his response is either “what do you think?” or “tell me more about your situation,” with little attempt to actually adress the concern.  No thank you, I prefer straight answers.

I also don’t like the vibe I’m getting from the board that BE is expected to be played as a series of unnopposed rolls that randomly fuck people over, but don’t actually have any ‘impact’ on the game.  The creative-disconnect is jarring, and there’s probably some people out there who think it’s genius, but to me, it seems petty, banal, and anticlimactic.  “I make this roll to hull all your family members!”  “Yeah?  Well I make THIS roll to burn down your house.  And kill your dog.”

That came out a lot less ranty than it was supposed to, so I might not be mad enough.  But it seems like everytime I read something in the Burning whatever book, it makes me want to say “booyah!” and everytime I read anything Luke posts to his website, it makes me want to scream “just shut up already!”

Maybe he has really good editors or something.

3 thoughts on “I Hate Reading Burningwheel.com

  1. Rahvin says:

    Completely agree with you. It’s kind of weird.

    Although from what I’ve seen, it’s not quite the “well what do you think?” comments that annoy me, it’s how quick he is to jump in and say, “maybe this isn’t the kind of game for you” everytime someone asks a question, makes an observation, or wants clarification.

  2. Jon says:

    You hate posts that say “Tell me more”? This is the internet, that kind of post is awesome. If the people at the forum had said “U R GHEY LOLROFL” then yeah, rant away. But they gave two shits about your question enough to ask for some more information.
    The thread on your super weapon pretty much speaks for itself.

  3. Willow says:

    Not sure who you are Jon, because you didn’t link to your own website.

    Note that in the referenced thread, Luke Crane (Abzu)’s first post is telling me I’m playing the game wrong. He doesn’t (in his own words) “directly answer [my] question” until I’ve said that I don’t think such posts are useful.

Leave a Reply

