That Sense Of History

It’s not nostalgia, but I think it’s something close to it.

So I will soon be running the Return to Dragon Mountain, using the Savage Worlds system.  This is something I’ve wanted to do for over a year, and it’s been at least two years since I last ran Dragon Mountain, after a campaign that I ran pretty much every week for two-three years.

Looking over some of my notes, there was this great feeling of ‘I remember that,’ or ‘oh yeah, that guy,’ or such.  Lots of warm, fuzzy memories.

I may have been confused as hell during Tim’s Vampire game, but I’m betting that this is a regular occurence for him and his players, as plot items long forgotten arise to the forefront of the mind.

There’s a lot to be said for that warm fuzzy feeling.  I think that’s what a lot of people play long campaigns for- that sense of history, of being something larger than one’s self, a shared experience, and that tangible sense that one is participating in an act of creation.

I can’t help but wonder if there’s a trick waiting to be stumbled upon that might allow shorter term games to replicate this.  I suspect collaborative-game creation is a step in the right track, but it’s actually too focused- with World Burning, you expect all the aspects involved to be used- if they aren’t it’s a waste.  You need something that can surprise you by its inclusion, and give you that mnenomic jolt.

And when someone figures that out, I’ll look back on this and remember warmly.

3 thoughts on “That Sense Of History

  1. Tim says:

    Bingo. There’s nothing like dropping a name and having the players go “Holy $!#+, THAT guy?!”

    Now I just need to bottle that and sell it to Red Bull.

  2. Willow says:

    Well, you’re the expert on that sense of history.

    Let’s assume, for the sake of discussion, that that sense of history can be created, or at least nurtured, under controlled circumstances.

    What do you, as a GM, or even as a player, do to encourage that?

  3. Tim says:

    Have a history prepared in advance and give the players different versions of it. They will discover and re-interpret things as they compare notes. It will also reinforce the sense of paranoia and the feeling that everything is more complex than it appears.

Leave a Reply

