I’m Okay, You’re Okay, But Your Game Sucks

Recently, I was involved in a game where I had less enjoyment than I might like, and offered some criticisms.  The person who was game mastering seemed to take it in stride at the time, but later fired back on the internet, indicating that they took it personally.

I see variations on this time and time again- someone gets offended because someone else doesn’t like their ideas, or someone is afraid to speak their mind for fear of alienating their friends.

Come on.  We are all smart, well adjusted adults, and if we aren’t, it’s high time we started.  Two perfectly intelligent people that are friends can have differences of opionion.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with this.

If I’m at your table, watch out.  I’ll let you know what I’m thinking.  You deserve an honest criticism.

3 thoughts on “I’m Okay, You’re Okay, But Your Game Sucks

  1. Troy_Costisick says:

    Heya Willow,

    The art of taking constructive criticism is definately suffering in America. People don’t recognize a helping hand when they see one.

    I’m not sure why. It could be that their self-esteems have been falsely built up so high that anyone pointing out any kind of flaw crashes their world completely. It could be that the radical individualism in America prevents people from feeling a sense of community and therefore a sense of mutualism. I honestly don’t know.

    But definately don’t let this disuade you from offering constructive criticism to your peers. It’s a true act of kindness IMO when you offer someone some friendly advice to improve thier craft. I have no doubt you meant yours in a positive way.

    Peace,

    -Troy

  2. Rahvin says:

    I think so long as you aren’t mentioned directly, you shouldn’t be concerned with what your friend is posting on the internet in response to your criticism. I know it can hurt a little, since you just meant to help them but having a tolerance of his internet “attacks” seems far easier and more important than having a tolerance of someone whose approval you wanted criticising something you love to your face.

    Judge him not by what he posts or whether or not he agrees with your criticism, but by how he treats you in response and how his next session turns out. (Anthony, II:12-16)

  3. […] I’m Okay, You’re Okay, But Your Game Sucks […]

Leave a Reply

