Snow and Ice

There was a huge snowstorm in Madison yesterday.  Maybe it counted as a blizzard, maybe it didn’t.

Just about every business was shut down in Madison.

But not WalMart.

For some reason, I decided to go into work.  Over two thirds of the staff called in.  We probably did only 10% of the business we normally do.  The roads were crappy when I drove in at 8:30.  And they only looked like they were getting worse.

Customers came in, and talked about seeing cars in ditches.  A semi truck jackknifed and our main parking lot exit was unusable for about an hour.   Someone spun out in our parking lot and was almost hit by a snow plow.  All major highways in Madison were completely shut down.

Dreading driving home, wondering if I’d have to call my four-wheel-drive boyfriend, my shift dragged on and on.

Finally, at 4:30 I got to go home.  The parking lot was freshly plowed, which meant my car was covered in snow.  I was able to drive out of the parking lot, went slowly on roads through town, and got to my house.

And promptly got stuck in the driveway.

If you’re going to get stuck and need to be shoveled/pushed out, I suppose your own driveway is a good place to do it.

Leave a Reply

