Mentorage

Yesterday I went out to Cross Plains. There’s a gaming group out the local library for kids, with a couple of adults supervising. They have someone drive out once in a while to run D&D for them, but they’re looking for someone to give them a hand.

I came by, with some bags of games. When I arrived, some of the kids were puzzling over a newly opened box of Dominion, and I was asked if I knew how to play. After teaching the game, some more kids wanted to play it, so I taught it to 3 more, and sat out, watching the game and answering questions.

For the most part, the kids were very polite and well-mannered, but overly energetic at times. For me it was a very tiring experience, but fun. The kids were VERY enthusiastic to have someone who might run D&D for them on a more regular basis- the other adults don’t know much about it.

One of the kids wants to learn to GM, so near the end of the afternoon I pulled him aside and we collaborated on an idea for an adventure- I wanted to show him that making an adventure and running a game is easy! He came up with the monsters, the traps, the treasure (with some prompting from me), and I’ll do the heavy lifting of picking encounter loadouts. (I didn’t have any books with me, otherwise I probably would have statted one with him right there.) Next time, when I play, I’ll have him co-GM with me, with me having take as much of the role as I think he can- I’ll probably split the monsters with him, and let him play the really fun ones.

The kids seemed to be happy to meet me- I got some hugs from the younger girls, and they were especially eager for the chance to play more D&D.

4 thoughts on “Mentorage

  1. Micah says:

    That’s really exciting Willow. Glad to hear that it went well.

    I think that games are a great way to introduce kids to positive and educational things that they otherwise wouldn’t be interested in. How did you get involved in this program? I’d love to do something similar around here.

  2. James says:

    Couldn’t think of a better roll/role model :-).

  3. Len says:

    Keep up he good work!

    Its good to know that a group of young Gamers has such a good teacher. While it may be tiring, it will also be rewarding.

  4. oberonthefool says:

    Awesome. I’ve got a librarian friend with whom I’ve discussed this sort of thing a few times. Nothing’s come of it yet, but we’ll see. On the other hand, I am not quite as… presentable… to the family sorts. Even though I get along well with kids (being the oldest of 6, I have lots of experience).

Leave a Reply

